20th Century

The Minster in the 20th Century

The Excavations in 1967

During the 20th century, the fabric of the Minster endured two major concentrated programs of work in the building’s perpetual history of preservation and restoration: the 1965-6 survey and the 1984 fire.

The detailed architectural survey of the Minster in 1965-6 by Bernard Feilden, Surveyor of the Fabric, revealed a need for urgent major restoration, particularly of the foundation of the central tower.  This alarming discovery implemented a major period of restoration work, involving close co-operation between engineers and archaeologists.  Strengthening and reinforcement of the central tower’s foundations took place between 1967 and 1972 at a cost of £2 million. 

It was during the excavations that remains of the north corner of the Roman Principia were found.

The second period of restoration occurred after the fire in the South Transept of 9 July 1984.  Fire broke out and destroyed the roof of the South Transept.  The fire brigade's report to the Home Office said that lightning was the most likely cause. The damage resulting from three hours of fire took some four years and around £2.5 million to fully repair and restore.  Restoration work was completed in 1988, and included new roof bosses to designs from competition winners from BBC Television's Blue Peter programme.

Throughout the twentieth century, the fabric and contents of the Minster also saw various dedications and additions.  In 1925 The Five Sisters Window was dedicated in the presence of the Duchess of York, subsequently Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother, as a memorial to women of the British Empire who lost their lives during the 1914-18 War.  In 1955 The Astronomical Clock was dedicated as a memorial to 18,000 flying men of the Allied Air Forces who lost their lives flying from bases in the north east during the 1939-45 War.


Related themes

Here is a list of themes to explore.

More themes